More about pain

I once did a blog post about pain. (I will link that at the end of this blog post if you have not yet read that). I have since come to realise how little I actually know. I am not the oldest or most mature person, but then who is? I may not have the most knowledge or life experiences, once again, who does? But here goes anyway…I have come to learn that there is always going to be pain on this earth. And sometimes, pain is what pain is. It is a crushing boulder that knocks you right off centre and completely catches you off guard. There is no warning to say “I will just come swing by next week on Monday at 13:04pm so be ready.” There is no signal to tell you to prepare yourself. All you feel is that hit, a blow to the face by the strongest fist you think you have ever felt and it stings, it hurts, it bleeds. You feel that stab, right there in the heart where it hurts the most and it lingers until all you can feel and think about is that pain, it numbs your whole being and leaves you breathless. I don’t want to sound clichĂ© and give you false information. But, all I can say to that is that it is okay, no not “everything is okay”. But more, it is completely okay to hurt and to bleed a little before figuring yourself out. It is okay to not be okay, for some reason we all seem to think everything in life must be immaculate and perfect. We all fall down sometimes, and honestly? That’s perfectly fine, if anyone tells you different they’re wrong, for sure because the last thing you need is to beat yourself up about not being okay. Admitting it and coming to terms with the fact that you are not okay is not something to be ashamed of, ever. It’s just one of those many things that life comes with. My thoughts and feelings on pain have not changed since my last post about this topic. I still think we can misinterpret it and think of pain in a way that it is not, however I just think and know for a fact that pain just hurts sometimes. This next statement is like a tiny summary of my last blog post on this, pain is often seen as the enemy, which is honestly fair enough, but don’t forget that pain is not the be all and end all. It’s inevitable and it’s something we must live with, each and every one of us, but it doesn’t mean it’s the end of the road. I can’t promise that things will get better I can’t say everything will be okay, because I honestly don’t know the answer to that. Some people may like to give this “reassurance” but I really don’t feel there is anything helpful in giving someone firstly, false hope in a time of desperation and secondly just another “roll off the tongue phrases” that offers no actual guidance or comfort at all.

Pain stings,
Pain hurts,
Pain breaks,
Pain destructs,
Pain is confusing,
Pain is nasty, harsh and mean,
Pain brings periods of hardship,
…At times and I am here to say, that is okay.

Last blog post in the topic of pain, titled: Misunderstanding Pain-https://walkinginyourfreedom.wordpress.com/2015/11/22/misunderstanding-pain/

One thought on “More about pain

Leave a Reply

